The Metropolitan Borough of Southwark was a metropolitan borough in the County of London from 1900 to 1965.

It was created to cover the western section of the ancient borough of Southwark and formed the northwestern part of the current London Borough of Southwark. In common with the rest of inner London, the borough experienced a steady decline in population throughout its existence. The borough council made an unsuccessful attempt to gain city status in 1955.

»read full article